calypte 11th August

Thought I should stop by before the weekend, as I’ve been a bit slack with the updates 😉

Quite enjoying these ‘fun’ three weeks. It’s quite amazing how much of a difference having a date for things moving on has made to my outlook. Or, it really is just getting over the vitD disaster and snuffles. I ended up being out for twice as long as I expected on Wednesday, chatting to E so much I actually lost my voice! We went to see Valerian and going in with low expectations we both actually really enjoyed it. It’s not a ‘good’ film, the plot is messy and the acting is ‘meh’, but wow does it look shiny! If my want-to-see list wasn’t so long, I might be tempted to go back for a 3D viewing.

It wasn’t a late night, or an active day, but it was the first time I’d been out by myself in over a month, and it took its toll – I’m still recovering a bit, and incredibly achy from sitting for hours on end! Still, last month I would have been unable to do anything at all the day after, whereas I actually managed my usual coffee and grocery shopping trip before needing to fall over. Which was also interrupted by a thankfully brief but still welcome visit from my friend who works the Festival and just wanted a sit and a coffee (or 3!!) in the middle of a16-ish hour day. Bless! Always nice to be able to make someone else’s life even just a little easier! 🙂

This evening I’m going to see my colleagues for the first time in months – eep! – and go to a Henning Wehn show, who I’m not familiar with. Still, it’s definitely nice to be *doing* stuff again, even if it is just for a few weeks.

Things to remember over the weekend:

  • house insurance, grr!
  • Mooc – got an email saying the algorithms one I half-started has a deadline on Sunday, so might look at that with a bit more focus
  • sooo behind on reviews! Go go go (esp as might increase my chance of getting the Nevernight sequel!)
  • arty stuff – was pondering this for maybe end of Sept/Oct, but remembered I have a couple of drawing/watercolour books from Netgalley that I forget about
  • continue decluttering

Happy weekends, all! 🙂

 

Comments on: "calypte 11th August" (4)

  1. Yay! I’m glad to read your update and really happy to hear that your outlook is looking up and you’re feeling a bit better.

  2. Yes, seems like you’ve really turned a corner now! How was Henning Wehn? I’ve seen him on Have I Got News For You and I liked his sense of humour.

    • Well, maybe spoke too soon a little! HW was pretty good, and that’s from a generally non-comedy fan. Colleagues seemed to love it.

Leave a Reply

