7/10/17 ftf, wren

I’m back from sunny Arizona, where we had temperatures that soared as high as 118F/48C.  The heat didn’t really bother me too much, though.

My plan of splitting the drive into two days worked well, as did traveling on Thursdays.  It made traveling much less stressful.  Once at my mom’s, I did some things to help her out – got her phone and electricity fixed, got her dog to the vet, saved her lemon tree from dying of thirst – and we did some fun things, too – saw the Frida Kahlo/Diego Rivera exhibit, took in two good movies, went for some scenic drives.  I had an unexpected and very nice visit with my nephew and a sad visit with my brother, who is not doing too well.

Speaking of my brother, his wife was not around when I came by to visit.  The excuse given was kind of hilarious.  They have a carved wooden statue of a cute bear that is a welcome sign at their house.  When I came to visit, she was out shopping for materials to make clothing for the statue, which obviously meant that she just didn’t want to be around when I was there. 

I also went to church with my mom, only because it makes her happy.  This is the Anglican church.  I am really bored by church and just can’t buy into the doctrine.  I did find a way to entertain myself, though.  During the hymns, I substituted “meow meow meow” for all of the hymn words.  I even got my mom to join in with some meow meow hymns, and we got ourselves laughing pretty good.

The boss will be in England for the next two weeks, which should make for a much easier return to work.  My computer should be fixed after the virus infection.  I understand that they replaced the hard drive, so I’ll probably have to devote some time to getting things set up again.  The day before I left on my trip, I got word that we have permission to spend some funds that were being held to recruit a new faculty member.  This takes some financial pressure off, at least for the time being.  Also, my efforts to gain one employee, a single mom, a much-deserved and substantial salary increase were successful, so I am quite happy about that. 

morning

meditate

happy dog time!

cardio

take Becca to vet

work day

e-mail

update Troy’s ABA

NeuroNext info

update Suven invoice

MK8931 invoice additional info

phone call re: invoice

approve PET invoices

new Kronos training

p card reallocation

INS info

letter for forgiveness of reimbursement

clinical trials invoicing

DPS quarterly report

nursing quarterly reconciliation

ePARs

set up AbbVie pass through sheet

Eisai uTRAC

Eisai forgiveness of reimbursement

complete first RATS class

after work

therapy

sleep

Comments on: "7/10/17 ftf, wren" (3)

  1. Urgh, I would melt long before it got that hot – wow!! What movies did you see?

    • We saw My Cousin Rachel and Maudie. Both were good, especially Maudie. I felt very fortunate to find to good PG-rated movies that were suitable for viewing with my mom. 🙂

  2. Yes, that sounds incredibly hot! I begin to wilt once it gets to 25 degrees 🙂

    Glad things went well though and you were able to turn some negatives into positives. I too find that “meow” is an excellent lyric when singing songs!

    And LOL at your SIL’s excuse for not being around when you visited – like getting clothes for the bear was an urgent thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

