Happy April! I’m back in London after my week away, which generally went well – Amsterdam was as lovely as I remembered – except for Mum nearly getting mown down by a tram as we were walking to the station to get the train to the airport. We could have done without that! We spent a morning at the Rijksmuseum which is now open again and very nice, and a morning at the Albert Cuypmarket which is an area I really like.

I also did my first morning of gardening at Highgate Cemetery last Saturday which went well. There were four of us plus the bloke in charge, and the others were friendly. They were all a bit older than me and seemed to have been doing it for a long time. We cleared ivy off some tombstones which was very satisfying, although I managed to break two pairs of secateurs. The woman I was working with was very nice about it, and since she’s in charge of tool maintenance she was blaming herself instead of me! Have now ordered my own secateurs for next time 🙂 The place itself is quite extraordinary and I imagine it could be quite spooky in the dark, but it was a beautiful sunny morning and felt very nice to be in the open air doing something constructive!

This Saturday just past, we had a family trip to the National Theatre to see Twelfth Night with Tamsin Greig as “Malvolia” which was an amazing performance. I think they’ll be showing it at cinemas soon and am almost tempted to go and see it again.

Anyway, back to work today and it’s our first proper day as the New Charity so my main task is to email our fundholders (about 1000 people) and let them know the new bank details etc.

Hope your return to work went all right, calypte, and love your concept of the PPP, wren!

  • clear up carnage from last night
  • STLs
  • catch up with C
  • see what’s lurking in the inbox…
  • where are we with bank 2, bank 3, VAT reg etc.
  • email to fundholders
  • whatever else there is time for 
  • catch up on Homeland
  • early night
Comments on: "SL’s FTF, Mon 3rd April" (5)

  1. Welcome back! I’m so glad to hear the visit to Amsterdam was a success and there were no train-related injuries. The cemetery gardening sounds lovely. Perhaps it will provide some ideas that can be included in your book!

    • Thanks! Yes, one of the reasons I signed up for the gardening was to widen my horizons and get more ideas.. look out for a novel featuring broken secateurs in the near future 🙂

  2. Thanks, SL! Glad to hear you had a nice trip and the gardening went well. The Twelfth Night cinema performance is this Thursday – I’m hoping they do an encore, though, as I’m triple booked for that night o_O

    • Hadn’t realised it was this Thursday everywhere – oh well, guess I will miss it. Hopefully they’ll do another one!

      • If I see an encore screening, I’ll shout. The encores might be on different nights, though, but the live performance is only broadcast the once (or, has been the case so far!).

Leave a Reply

