calypte 29th January

Some mixed news, and some happies.

Got a call from the surgeon on Friday afternoon to say she’d chased up the waiting list coordinator for my date – to be told that I am ‘not a priority’ and given the size of the waiting list it’ll be the end of March or April. WTF?! Surgeon wasn’t entirely happy with that, so she’s put me on the cancellations list. So, hmm. On the one hand, it’s good news that I’m not a danger-case (not used to that, after all the cancer stuff!), but it’s a very different message than I’ve been getting for months. I’m somewhere between “argh! I’ve been planning for this!” and worried more about how long this plus the second op will now drag on, but also a little giddy feeling of reprieve kicking in.

I’d already booked next week off work, thinking I’d be in surgery the following week, and decided to just keep it as a holiday. At least now I know I’ll get the full week and no sudden phone calls! That is a somewhat relaxing state, so let’s go with that ๐Ÿ™‚

Talking of relaxing, I did manage both the pizza and the relaxation session on Thursday – and it was amazing! I was handed a pillow and blanket when I went in, and lay down to listen to the gentle music and visualisationย – and actually fell asleep for a bit! Not like me, but left feeling amazing! So, given the current situation, going to see if I can swing a long lunch or two for the next several weeks to go back to that. Should be fine from work’s view, as long as the making up the time doesn’t end up stressing me more!

Because my only feasible plan now, I guess, is just to keep my stress levels as low as possible for the next two months o_O Which is an excuse for treats and being super-nice to myself ๐Ÿ™‚ Although I do now have to stop eating like I’m going to be on nothing but soup for the next week – ahem! ๐Ÿ˜‰ With that in mind, I fancy investigating ‘Buddha bowls’ – anyone here had any experience? Healthy food + pretty seems like good motivation.

Yesterday was not healthy but it was AWESOME fun! Me, K and E had booked complimentary pamper sessions at 2 beauty counters in John Lewis, so I had a hand massage and some ‘dramatic’ eye make up done. Feeling quite inspired – which happens every so often! – to experiment and practice a bit more with my make up, because why not? ๐Ÿ™‚ After that we went back to E’s for pizza and DVDs, and to help K polish off the bottle of Moet & Chandon that she won last month – woo! ๐Ÿ™‚ SUCH a good night, feeling very grateful for friends and fun and frippary ๐Ÿ™‚

So yes, plans for more fun in my life include doing stuff like that more often ๐Ÿ™‚ Also pondering treating myself to more make up, and a new indulgent couch-throw, as E’s was *amazing*.

After all that, today is for chillaxing – bath and reading and TV binge and meditation ๐Ÿ™‚ I might yet pick away at some of my currently-planned ‘projects’, which include:

  • shoe audit – photos and a clear out
  • sort through my scarves –ย knowing what I have will let me buy some new ones, guilt-free, and I’ll need them even more now to keep the scar out of the sun ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
  • trying out the graphics tablet! Wooo! Can’t believe I’ve not been home/awake enough for this since it arrived on Wednesday o_O
  • set up my BuJo for Feb – especially as I seem likely to now ‘have’ a whole Feb!
  • research Buddha bowls
  • turn my spare room into my ‘creative sanctuary’ aka tidy up ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • continue reading The Joy Diet – attempt 600, I’m sure, but it’s going well. Might be the first time I’ve reached item 3, which I think is ‘desire’ – sounds like it ties perfectly with my current mindset!

Which is a lot, but stuff I fancy doing without making into a big fuss (was reading an article about What if we quit setting goals? which hit a few chords!). All sort of feels organisational and foundation stuff, before taking on anything more – and there is more! Two months (admittedly, cancellations list may shorten that, but my brain craves planning!) is a pretty good span of time to devote to things. Hugely unfortunately, I cancelled my gym membership during the week, thinking I’d be out of action for months – argh!ย Of course, may not have used it, but not having it makes me feel that I might’ve – so, hmm! But, other options are available, so onwards!

Comments on: "calypte 29th January" (3)

  1. Wow, the news about your surgery really is a mixed bag, isn’t it? I can definitely imagine that at this point you’d just want to move ahead and get it over with but can also relate to the feeling of getting a reprieve. You have so many lovely plans for the upcoming week and beyond – good for you! It’s really hard for me to set fun goals and “me” goals, so you are a good inspiration.

    I’ve never heard of Buddha bowls, so I looked them up. They look really satisfying! I’m sure the name is part of the appeal, but just one small part.

    When you had your relaxation time, was it a massage?

    Keep up the good fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, wren. Let me know if you try Buddha bowls, I’m chasing any tips! The relaxation was just guided meditation. Although you’ve reminded me, I want to look into a massage ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you are inspired to go do something for you, too!

  2. I’d never heard of Buddha bowls, but googling just now they look very nice! Glad you’ve been having some fun with your friends and some happy plans for the future ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

