T’s 31st Oct

In hometown now, conference went well, weekend went on bright and sunny and I was in solar mood. Today there’a thick fog outside my 5th floor window, and it feels like one is among the clouds.

And, oh yes, sorry, the earthquake. I was in Padova yesterday morning, sitting at my desk and I felt it, it was quite a violent shake even at that great distance from the point of origin, and what was most impressive was that it lasted and was going on and on and on and it seemed it would never pass. I have perceived many earthquakes in Italy, and all of them were no big deals, because I always happened to be far enough from the center of them, so I wasn’t much scared, but this lasted so long that I had all the time to start thinking at all the casualties it would have caused. Luckily, and amazingly, nobody was killed, because this earthquake has been going on since last August, so most towns had already been evacuated as a precautionary measure, but the damages to the towns are now just horrible, and it is very painful to think of all those families losing their homes and the kind of life they used to live, the amount of desperation this earthquake has caused is immense and I can’t stand the thought of all the children losing their houses, all the old people feeling they lost their world, all the adults not knowing what to do. It’s tough. It makes me angry that all they say in the news is about the churches that were damaged. Sorry, but I don’t give a damn for the churches, no matter whether they date back to the 1300. But those towns, so beautiful, and them being gone, and so many lives of people who were living there being affected in a way that is going to impact all their life and their memories, this is what it is all about. If you want to take a couple minutes tour to one of those towns that don’t exist anymore, to see how beautiful it was before here is Arquata del Tronto, a fortified medieval town: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=laqRVypuEf8

The worst thing is that minor earthquakes in the area are just a continuum now and I know what that means, because I experienced that a few years ago when the earthquake had stricken (?) near Padova, it makes your nervous system go bonkers, all the time you hold your breath and wonder: is this wave I’m feeling just the beginning of another major quake? Or have I so much lost my mind that I’m imagining it? It’s not life, really. Every 3-5 minutes there are these minor quakes now in the area near Perugia.

Ok, trying to go on with my day.  Today and tomorrow are Bank holidays here, so I will be doing some work but mostly I’ll be doing an assessment of my year and goals till now, and a plan for the next 2 months left

  • See whether there is a possibility to use a Kakebo not to monitor my expenses but to monitor my writing progress. I tend to act on emergencies and am never able to devote enough time to my book, so having a kakebo, where one of the categories is “survival” might prove useful? Besides, I am already monitoring my writing with an excel file, but going analog is usually so much better for me. And I could monitor multiple projects, while with the excel file that is not so handy… as my currency will be time, still have to decide what unit to consider, hours, minutes, quarter of an hour. Or whether to consider number of words/pages as my currency and base for monitoring
  • report about my 2016 goals: what I achieved till now, what I need to work on
  • plan for the next 2 months

 

  • prep. lessons for this week
  • work emails
  • writing: Paper for Logos journal: draft

 

  • kettlebell
  • cook healthy lunch
Comments on: "T’s 31st Oct" (4)

  1. The earthquake situation is terribly sad. Will the government be able to assist the people who have lost their homes, or is that left up to insurances or charity?

    • The government said they would, and all the opposition to the government is going to collaborate with it. At least there’s a political unity about this, even if it would mean to go against what Europe says our budget should be. Charity isn’t big in Italy really. And I doubt insurance would pay for an event that is so extraordinary.

  2. Horrible about the earthquake 😦 ‘Kakebo’ is a new word for me, I’m thinking it’s similar to my Bullet Journal plans!

Leave a Reply

