T’s 6th Oct.

Feeling snowed under (is this how you say?). Trying to keep up my boundaries. No time for gym in the end today. No time for a lot of things.Not good. Umph

But then, the way I draw a balance in the evenings is completely different from how I draw it when I post in the mornings… I’m an early morning person, and in the mornings everything seems: easy, doable, piece of cake. In the evenings I have this sort of brain fog and think in circles, know I should be doing this and that and feel unable to even move a muscle. Posting the plan for tomorrow in the evenings helps me calm and reassess a coherent perspective a bit. But you might find it sounds a bit too negative. Don’t worry. I’m my usual self.

Plan for tomorrow:

  1. PRin report
  2. lesson MPhil
  3. lesson FM
  4. first draft ESMP talk
  5. deal with the kitchen mess
  6. early night? healthy meals? gym? uhm.. yawn…
Comments on: "T’s 6th Oct." (7)

  1. I’m an early morning person, too, and feel just as you described in the evening.

    • I feel detached from my mind, as if it were at a huge distance. I’m fine if I go out and can easily be social and relax, and even be witty. But if I try to do something, and organize thoughts, I feel powerless.

  2. Snowed under is absolutely right. Feeling similar myself!

    • I know it is right, but I don’t quite get what it actually means. Does it mean feeling as if an immense heap of snow has been falling and covering you completely? because all I can picture instead is as if I were laying on top of the snow, which I don’t see how it could be negative. I guess my problem is with understanding who’s actually “under” in this expression, whether it’s me or the snow. But then, if it means “busy”… why the snow?!?! Puzzling (and I know it must sound all very weird to you, sorry, one doesn’t really question the bee’s knees, so why questioning snowed under? no reason, really, I shouldn’t).

      • Oh, now I understand the reason for this idiom http://www.bloomsbury-international.com/en/student-ezone/idiom-of-the-week/1307-to-be-snowed-under.html
        The important thing is: one can’t leave home because of snow, can’t move, can’t do anything or go anywhere. So it’s not really a way to say that one is just overwhelmed, but it’s used as an apology to decline invitations and such. Ok, right.

      • No, these are great questions – and it’s always interesting to go work out where phrases you’d use without thinking actually come from! “Snowed under” is, I believe, from the idea of not being able to get out of your house because it’s snowed so much that the house is literally under snow (maybe if you’d built in a valley? Hmm).

    • BTW, sorry you are feeling like this as well, but the weekend is approaching fast! Sending you rinvigorating thoughts, at the best of my abilities. 🙂

Leave a Reply

