T’s 3rd Oct

Report from the weekend: stayed in worktown, as I had to wrap up a lengthy and complex project. I’m beyond deadline. Again. At one point I rearranged the furniture in the flat, typical sign of most intense stress. Sometimes I don’t manage to shift my perception of a problem with a project if I don’t start shifting the furniture around. My immense desk is now right by the big windows: the added physical light brought some mental enlightenment. Or perhaps it was the physical effort, at last, after so long a mental one. Great technique to unblock, dealing with the furniture by the way. (Kidding! Well, not entirely) So now it’s high stress and intense mental energy. I hate it, and love it. If I could have this level of high mental energy without the stress, it’d be just perfect. I’ll get there.

 

Today’s Plan:

  1. CD: revisions: insert references to MLS and to GP
  2. CD: revisions: check the format of ALL the references (most tedious thing in the world, right; let’s see how long this actually takes)
  3. CD: edit file Sig.
  4. PL/PG
  5. solve any other inconsistency, but with a minimalistic attitude
  6. email the whole of it and restart breathing normally

 

ETA: I did it! Finished at 4:45 pm, run to catch a train, going to celebrate this evening with my husband. Happy happy dance!

ETA1 can we have a banner in the colours of Autumn? I just love this season so much!

 

 

Comments on: "T’s 3rd Oct" (2)

  1. I love the idea of adjusting your physical surroundings in order to achieve a shift in your mental world. I never would have thought of that, but it makes so much sense!

    • With me, it always works, I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve moved the furniture around in my worktown flat. Never did it in hometown. I feel stable and secure there, with little need for experimenting and discoveries. While in worktown, everything is a mental challenge. I cannot imagine not having 2 towns, 2 flats, 2 sort of lives, to balance my need for novelty and my need for security. I know it must sound weird. But that is how I work.

Leave a Reply

