The Ivy Lee Method

I thought this article might be interesting to my fellow FTFers.  The method is basically:

  1. At the end of each work day, write down the six most important things you need to accomplish tomorrow. Do not write down more than six tasks.
  2. Prioritize those six items in order of their true importance.
  3. When you arrive tomorrow, concentrate only on the first task. Work until the first task is finished before moving on to the second task.
  4. Approach the rest of your list in the same fashion. At the end of the day, move any unfinished items to a new list of six tasks for the following day.
  5. Repeat this process every working day.

I think that I will give it a try.  🙂

Comments on: "The Ivy Lee Method" (4)

  1. Thanks Wren, I’ll try it, it fits very well into the Lakein method that I’ve been adopting lately!

  2. That does seem interesting and a useful reminder to focus on the important stuff – FTF really! 🙂 I have a lot of small tasks each day and needy people clamouring all the time, so I tend to use one of Mark Forster’s methods from his book “Do It Tomorrow”.

    • I’ll have to look into that book. I also have a lot of small daily tasks and clamoring, needy people, so his approach might work for me, too.

Leave a Reply

