SL’s FTF, Wed 14th Sept

Today is the first day of the pedometer challenge at work – teams of 4 competing to get the most steps in over the next 6 weeks. As one of my colleagues pointed out, we can totally cheat if we want to, since the steps are self-reported, but that would be defeating the point! Up bright and early and got a nice walk in – definitely noticing the change in the light level and by the end of Oct it could be quite a challenge but it’s fine for now.

I was listening to the This American Life podcast, as usual, and there was a thing on fasting. I’m trying 5/2 at the moment and today is a fast day so it’s basically coffee for breakfast, gazpacho and strawberries for lunch (so Z doesn’t realise I’m doing it, don’t want to make a big song and dance about it) and nothing after that except water and herbal tea. It is quite hard but the mental sharpness is pretty cook. The guy on the podcast who did the fasting didn’t seem to get that, so I’m grateful I do, at least!

The next three days should be quieter at work and I’m hoping to get checking, filing and odds and sods sorted out. The huge pile of checking is getting quite ridiculous now and I have been putting it off for ages. Just need to get on with it ffs, especially as we have Archiving Day next Friday.

  • walk
  • STLs
  • talk to W about IML accounts
  • fund admin
  • checking
  • filing
  • more reading / analysis of plot / idea generation
  • Bake Off – not sure it’s helpful to watch this on a fasting day 🙂
Comments on: "SL’s FTF, Wed 14th Sept" (4)

  1. LOVE the Freudian lapsus!!! pretty cook, yeah. Following your 5/2 fasting with interest, as I was thinking of trying it myself.

  2. I had no idea that fasting could lead to mental sharpness. That’s very interesting. So is the idea that you fast two days out of five? I guess I should download the podcast and listen to it!

    • Oh yes, that’s one of the main benefits, I find! The podcast wasn’t about 5/2 as such – it was some guy doing a 20 day fast – it was just coincidence that I was listening to it this morning. 5/2 means you fast 2 days out of 7 and eat normally the other 5 days. I’m actually aiming for 4/3 this week but we’ll see how I feel on Friday… I find it easier to do when I’m at work, because I have more stuff to do there to keep me distracted.

Leave a Reply

