calypte 19th July

I don’t think it would be unreasonable at the moment to suggest that the universe hates me: woke last Monday doing that whole shivery thing that meant I was running a fever. Nothing obvious, put it down to flu, but oy has it been a rough week! Went to the doc’s yesterday, as she was fab: nothing obvious so yes, probably a bug, but she took blood and is just testing for everything just in case. Also sent me for a chest xray, since I’ve now had this annoying cough for about 4 or 5 weeks (I’m not really worried, I had my lungs CT’ed during that and nothing showed up!).

Finally starting to feel a little on the mend, but damn, I could do without losing these big chunks of time/life. Last week was supposed to be a start (again!!) on building up on the exercise and stamina, getting into a full-day routine, studying some, etc. Grr!!

Anyway. At least I *am* on the mend. And frustrating as it is (oy, work!!! Just, no: can’t deal with those thoughts right now!!) I can only do what I can do. So, pondering if I’m well enough to meander out of the house today (goodness knows I need to move – my back/hips are in agony from a week of mostly lying down!), maybe to something low-key like the cinema (I know, on the hottest, sunniest day of the year!)?

Also behind with my cooking, so hoping the veggies in the fridge are still okay! Got some peppers and courgette and onions to roast to go with some butternut squash – pasta topping, or bruschetta – and have some more wintery veg for a lentil/curry casserole that I like to have in the freezer for a light meal.

Onwards! Urm, slowly.

Comments on: "calypte 19th July" (5)

  1. I’ve been wondering how you’re doing and thought that maybe you were very busy with work. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been so sick, instead. Paws are crossed that your health will continue improving!

  2. Turandot said:

    Onwards, indeed! Slowly, indeed!
    Did I ever tell you about the most stupid question I asked in a M&S grocery shop? “Excuse me please, but is there butter in the butternut squash? And what is “butternut” anyway?” I think they are still laughing. Happy memories of Summertown.

  3. Argh, bad luck about the continuing illness. I’m sure that cough you have is the same one that was going round here a few weeks ago – the 4-5 week special. Mine has actually gone now, so there is light at the end of the tunnel! Hope you can get out and about a bit soon.

Leave a Reply

