T’s 25th June

boston

I thought I would show you why I love to jog on the Charles River esplanade.

I’m doing a bit of a crazy experiment tomorrow.

Today I had an epiphany: I was reminded of the notion of learning styles and  sensory preferences when I realized that my dominant sensory preference is auditory, in second place comes kinesthetic and only last comes visual.  Well, ok, this was confirmed by a test as at first I was a bit doubtful as to where I’d sit. My result is a bit odd, as most people tend to be dominantly visual. But I could at last understand why scheduling is a strategy that never helps me accomplish much.  While the podcasts of the Ct5K always work so well. It looks like I am great at following verbal instructions delivered orally. While reading a list of tasks leaves me quite indifferent, or wondering, or worried (or worse, as a “rebel”, it often fuels my tendence to oppose what I wrote I should be doing).

So I just recorded on my tablet a set of instructions and steps for what I want to accomplish tomorrow. I am very curious to see how it goes. Ok, you don’t need to tell me this is crazy, in another era I would have used a dictaphone.

What about you? are you visual, auditory or kinesthetic? It’s an essential distinction, and although I was taught about it when I started teaching (as these are considered to be different learning styles and a good teacher should be able to offer the content on the three sensory level simultaneously) I had never thought of applying these notions to me to steer my days.

I am currently re-reading Gretchen Rubin, Better than before and her insisting so much that each of us has to find her own way to develop habits, using what strategies suit us best, I made the connection and thought of trying this out.

 

Comments on: "T’s 25th June" (2)

  1. Is that where you’re living? How beautiful!

    I totally get where you’re coming from with the auditory memory thing. I remember seeing something ages ago that really impressed me about how you only remember a small percentage of what you read, buthe a far greater percentage of what you wrote, hear, and say. When I was revising for my A levels I tried to use as many means as possible and discovered reading things aloud was much more likely to get me to remember them – hearing myself say things is the most likely way to get them to stick around. And also using spacial awareness, so mind mapping things onto certain areas of a page in different colours was really helpful.

    I have really awful short-term memory (can’t remember what I just did haha!) so these whenever I have to transfer a long number from one place to next I have to say it out loud to stand any hope of remembering it without looking it up again. It’s also really useful with learning kanji that have complex compound radicals, there are some characters I can only remember because I hear myself saying (/singing!) the radicals in my head.

    Interested in how this works for you!

  2. I’m mainly kinesthetic. I’m also a meditator and find that a lot of meditation exercises are nearly impossible for me because they involve visualization. Unlike you, written lists do work for me, though.

Leave a Reply

