calypte 26th April

Today’s news: no radiotherapy for me! Which means I’m sort of done with treatment o_O Feels… odd, I have to say. This is it? Hmm. Of course, follow-up CT scan still to come in a couple of months, and fingers will have to be very tightly crossed for that before I’m out of the woods šŸ˜¦ I’ve also got possible tamoxifen side effects in my future, but apparently those can take 3 months to show up.

In other words… time to just be getting on with things again?

The past week has been one of trying to build up again to something approaching normality. I’ve been out to the cinema (fun, but buses are still difficult), and spent a full afternoon wandering around the zoo in the sunshine. That was lovely – probably overdid it by more than a little, but just the sun and fresh air were wonderful šŸ™‚ I have needed some quiet/recovery time for the aches following each of these mini-adventures, right enough, so still one step at a time.

I also enjoyed tai chi last night. First half of the class was a lot of trying to follow the more experience folk, and I wasn’t really enjoying it or getting much ‘learned’. But then the tutor slowed it right down and started talking about ‘shifting your centre’ and ’emptying your leg’ and it made a lot more sense! Still only on second class, so not expecting to be great yet, but nice to feel that I can pick something up just a little each time, rather than just waving my arms around! o_O

Today, though, I find myself super-sleepy and quite achy. Not entirely sure why on either, so other than a brief trip to the shops I’m having a(nother) lazy one – while I can! šŸ™‚

Comments on: "calypte 26th April" (2)

  1. No radiotherapy is good, I assume? Cinema, zoo and tai chi all sound great. It took me about 2 years to learn tai chi last time which is why I went for qi gong this time šŸ™‚ There’s a lot to be said for waving your arms about!

    • I’m not sure the medical profession would be 100% happy, since it’s the ‘standard’ ‘just in case’ treatment, but given that’s what got me into this in the first place, I’m happy not to have to have a conversation about whether it’s a wise course, all things considered! As it stands, I’m too close to my lifetime limit to have a strong enough dose to be worth it, safely.

Leave a Reply

