Back in London now after an interesting few days. Things didn’t go according to plan! We all met up on Wednesday afternoon, and went to the hotel at Heathrow which was surprisingly nice. But then a few minutes later my brother discovered that his and my SIL’s passports were missing. Cue lots of hunting for them, them going back to Watford to see if they’d left them at home, etc.etc. No sign. We can only assume that someone nicked them out of their suitcase on the Piccadilly Line, which seems very strange as we were with the suitcases the whole time, but the tube did get quite busy at times and it’s just about possible.

So then we had to decide what to do, and we thought maybe they could get replacement passports the next day but it turned out that wasn’t possible. Then things got even worse, because my brother and SIL wanted Mum and me to go ahead with the trip, but for me the whole point was that the four of us were going together. Neither Mum nor I had been involved in the planning, I had no maps and didn’t know where we were staying etc, and Mum and I went to Italy together only a few months ago which was very nice but this time just the two of us going wasn’t what this was supposed to be about.

Anyway, Mum agreed with me – I think – and we decided not to go and I spent the weekend with her at home instead. On Saturday we went to Liverpool (her home town) for the day and went to the Pre-Raphaelite exhibition at the Walker Art Gallery which was very good. She had been wanting to go to this exhibition for some time and had asked a couple of friends to go with her but hadn’t managed to make it happen, so I was glad to be able to go with her, and we’ve made plans to go back to Liverpool for a couple of days in the summer.

Came back here on Sunday and had yesterday as a random day off which was nice and back to work today. I think I’m not going to tell this story to my colleagues but just pretend that we went after all. Except Z, who I shall tell the whole sorry tale to. I ordered some Baci online to help with my alibi!

So, on to today then…

  • breakfast
  • see what joys await me in the inbox
  • debrief with C
  • STLs
  • need to do payroll letters
  • make uber-list and crack on
  • quiet night in – have a bit of a cold at the moment so am taking it easy
Comments on: "SL’s FTF, Tues 5th April" (4)

  1. Turandot said:

    Oh dear! LOL well, it looks like your substite plans weren’t bad at all! I just hope there aren’t now 2 terrorists travelling around with those passports. It’s really weird and a bit unsettling. Well done for the Baci!

    • I hope there aren’t terrorists with those passports too! Obviously they have been cancelled but it was a horrible thing to happen.

  2. I’m laughing at your alibi preparedness. Very clever!

  3. Oh, no! Such a shame you didn’t get your holiday! But how funny with the alibi Baci! 🙂

Leave a Reply

