Moosie Thursday 7 January

Happy New Year! Hope you all had a good break – it’s good to see you all back with fresh goals for a fresh start 🙂
Our holiday was great, really relaxing and the new house is going up very quickly! I’m pretty impressed with how B has made that happen, he certainly can’t be stopped when he’s got his mind set on something! After my part of the trip I had a nice week at home pottering about, sorting some long-term things out and making a start on some new songs. I sang for the first time on Tuesday and am hopefully going to again tonight – need to get back on it!

I don’t have a big mass of structured goals this year – I know I need to keep going with what I was doing last year and try to develop that further. There are a couple of things I am doing that I didn’t intend to – I had no coffee on holiday and decided to stay off it after I got back, to see if there are any benefits – it’s not a goal and I’m happy to resume when the need arises but this is day 16 so I may make a month, we’ll see! Working on health as always and saving money, keeping up with weekly creative things and letters/presents. I need to look at job options this year but at the moment we’re still catching up after Christmas and I haven’t had a chance to get to that yet!

As far as music goes, there are four main areas: songwriting, gigging, technical/skill work and recording, and there are five general areas on my monetising/promo list: radios, reviews, venues, new ideas, and website development. Last year I was quite haphazard in my approach, I was very much focused on gigging at the exclusion of all else and for the most part I just took the opportunities that came up. It’s going to take a whole new approach to go from that way of stumbling along to a coherent strategy that sees me tending to everything equally – that’s what I’m working towards at the moment.

I think the big theme is going to be balance – spreading my focus and being able to compromise on some things to achieve others. Last year I was very strict about the days I would exercise and the gigs I would play and sometimes it felt like I was going through the motions without really achieving anything and stressing myself out. This year I want to enjoy it more and be grateful for the richness of life – there’s a lot going on and much of it is unexpected, and I want to make the most of how fantastic it already is as well as working towards my longer-term goals.

Today then:
* lie-in!

Work:
* final invoices
* depreciation
* month-end closing
* need to talk to M about training

Then I think I can start to address some of the longer-term things
* budget updates
* development hour
* bunch of stuff I know I have to read

Need to have lunch and pop to Boots!!

Reading time and personal planning

Music research list

Tonight:
Going to check out a new folk club and hoping I will get to play!

Comments on: "Moosie Thursday 7 January" (4)

  1. Happy New Year, Moosie! I really enjoyed your vacation photos on fb. Balance seems like an excellent overarching goal for 2016.

    • Thanks Wren! It was a great trip and I’m so happy that soon we’ll be able to go more often!
      I liked what you said in your post about spring being on the way! We haven’t really had our winter here yet but already I can’t help looking forward to spring (and working towards being in a better position once we get there!)

  2. OMG I had no idea you had been decaffeinated for 16 days and counting! 😉

    • Haha I was going to surprise you with it tomorrow when it’ll be…. 17 days and counting!!

Leave a Reply

